September 19, 2006

  • Gaura

    Both of these photographs are of gaura. I have both white and pink varieties. I've been impressed with the length of this perennial's blooming season. I did cut them back mid season, which seemed to give them new life. The pink one below actually is doing much better than it did in the spring since I cut it back.


    gaura


    DSC02886


    We had garden club today. We always have a pot luck luncheon and half of the ladies brought desserts, including me. I brought cinnamon rolls. I had to take one out of the pan before I took them, however. You can't make cinnamon rolls in this house without my husband getting one. In case you are interested, I'll include my recipe here. I had to write it out for on of the women who asked for it. I didn't really have a written down recipe -- just sort of know how much I use of stuff, so I hope it is right.
     
    Cinnamon Rolls


     Make dough in bread making machine using “dough” setting or simply stop it after 1½ hours. (Or mix the old fashioned way, knead 10 minutes, let rise until double in warm place and punch down.)


     1 cup  warm milk
    2 med eggs
    1/3 oil
    4 Tbsp  white sugar
    1 teaspoon salt
    2 teaspoons active dry yeast
    approx 4 cups all purpose flour (I mix it in with a spatula as the machine starts and add enough flour until the dough looks right.


    When machine is through with the dough cycle, place dough on floured surface, roll dough into a rectangle and dot with butter (about ¼ cup) and spread a mixture of cinnamon and sugar over dough. Then roll dough into a cylinder.


    Cut into 12 slices and arrange in greased baking pan. Let rise until at least double, then bake at 325° until golden brown.


     Frost while warm from the oven with icing ( made by mixing with a spoon: 3 Tbsp. soft butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, a Tbsp of cream  and enough powdered sugar to make an easy-to-spread frosting.)


    The whole process takes about 5 hours. Less in summer and more in the winter.





    I'm going outside now to get in a couple hours of work on the flower beds before it gets dark.

Comments (14)

  • it reminds me a bit of fireweed...

  • I love gaura and the butterflies do too!:)

  • It looks great! Thanks for the pruning tip...mine is making a comeback!

  • Mmmm...I printed the recipe. I love cinnamon rolls! Hope I get it right! I'll try it Sunday...thanks for sharing!

  • Hey Alice

    Very pretty flowers. I copied the recipe, it sounds yummy. I would like to join a garden club. I should see what I can find around here. Hey how is Chris house coming along?

  • Well, I am fairly stupid.  I guess I never thought to make the dough in the bread machine and then deal with it.  Of course, I don't need to make cinnamon rolls either.  :lol:

  • :wave:Yum Yum, must try that recipe it sound delicious. The flower pictures are beautiful,as usual. Thanks for sharing.

  • Those pink gaura look so delicate :yes:

    Yes , I will try those cinnamon rolls.  Although I don't really need them...they are so comforting and I love the smell of cinnamon in the house.:sunny:

  • I can't do 5 hours right now and I do not have a bread machine...but my mouth is watering just thinking about it.  I wonder if mouth water has any calories. 

  • Oh I love that pink one! As for the rolls, I loved my moms!

  • Your Gaura is beautiful!  I had some, but they didn't come back up this year. 

    Your cinnamon rolls sound delicious!

  • hello! thanks for making the smiley link or whatever it is, it's really easy! i used it on my xanga site! your flowers are beautiful and the cinamon rolls sound good too!

    hannah

  • ummmmm hi?

    everyone loves the smileys.

    yep.

    so thanks!

  • Love the gaura and I really REALLY loved the cinnamon rolls.  YUM YUM YUM.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories